Waterwheel Quilt Finished!

Actually, the Waterwheel quilt I made and used to teach my friend, Amber, quilting has been done and gone since September.  Amber did a great job quilting it, especially as doing so was her first time quilting.  She took to it like a fish to water and I think the results are wonderful.  We ended up giving the quilt to our friend, Kate, for her birthday.  I think she liked it.  The quilt got many oohs and ahhs at the party and I felt really good about that.  This is a pattern I will revisit someday.  It was very easy to do, but looks complicated.  Amber and I did manage to photograph it before presenting it to Kate:

The whole quilt measures about 85 inches square, as I recall.  It has been awhile since I thought about it.  Here is a detail of a corner:

I did the quilt in a sample of all my fabric with flowers and Amber quilted it with leaves and vines and blooming flowers.  It is a decidedly feminine quilt and I think I did a good job with it.  I suffered quilter’s block though and could not get the darn thing quilted.  Serendipitously, Amber was wanting to learn how.  She had made several quilts, but only tied them.  I figured this would be a great quilt with which to learn, because the blocks are quite busy and will hide the learner’s mistakes nicely.  Plus, there is plenty of border with which to play and experiment, too.  This quilt took too long to finish – I sort of stopped working on it.  I am so glad my friend was there to actually do the quilting.  Getting this quilt done enabled me to clear my head and begin a new project, about which I will write in another post.

One Response

  1. […] me.   It has been so long since I wrote anything for my blogs.  I did just complete a post for Misha’s Needle about a quilt I finished in August.  Sigh.  I spent the summer socializing and reconnecting with […]

Leave a Reply

