Sewing Machine Acquisition

We went to Fenton, MO today.  There is a feed store where we can get  50 pounds of sunflower seeds for $18.  The birds are happy now.  While there, we stopped in the local thrift store, Value Village.  For $21 I got a 1974 Kenmore 158.14301 sewing machine. It was bone dry. I oiled it up.  BrianSews’ Oil it up! is a good link for oiling vintage machines. kenmore 158.143016
Quilting example 14301 At left is a sample of quilting done on the new machine.  A few tension issues, but overall, good.  This machine is 3 years younger than my other 158.  It is a little different, but a lot is interchangeable.  It came with the table, which is larger than what I had been using. What a lucky find!
2 Responses

  1. Thank you for visiting my site and for the helpful comments! And nice job with this quilting on the new machine. What a find!

  2. I have one of these sewing machines just like this one. My Husband bought it for me back in about 1975 . It is still a good sewing machine. I use it still. Have several newer sewing machines that give a lot of problems .

Leave a Reply

