Got Boards – Basting related

I made it to home depot to get the 2 boards I will use to bast my waterwheel quilt. Hopefully, this method of basting will be easier than pin basting on my too small 3.5×6 foot table.  I really hope this goes smoothly, as I dislike basting in general.  The quilt top and back get wrapped on the boards and then the batting is not wrapped.  You unroll the quilts and smooth the batting and then bast what is unrolled.  So it is done in sections.  I never timed myself, but basting does take an awful lot of time.  The boards I got are the cheapest 1x3s available- they were ~$2 each and I spent about 15 minutes searching thru the pile to get 2 relatively smooth and straight ones.  They need a little sanding before I start wrapping quilts around them, but I think they’ll do for the task.

Leave a Reply

